Month-ahead budget view in Analytics

I’m fairly new to Emma, so it’s possible I’ve missed a setting somewhere that will allow this… but I really have looked!

I’ve set monthly budgets for 8 different spending categories, but because it’s early in the month 5 of those categories (correctly) have no transactions assigned them yet.

Those 5 categories (and their associated budgets) are not currently visible in Analytics for this month. And - as far as I can tell - there is no way to make them visible.

I can see why the default behaviour is to hide categories which have no assigned transactions - it avoids unnecessarily cluttering up the interface.

But I find it slightly odd that there’s apparently no option to expand the default view to show all spending categories (and/or all spending categories with an allocated budget) for the current month.

This is certainly something I would find useful in terms of planning my spending.

2 Likes

I came here to suggest exactly this!

Right now I’m “blind” until I spend in a category

Of course I have a big total at the top, but that gives me a false sense of how much money I have to spend in my budget, as in reality, it’s been preallocated.

So in the same way that “subscriptions” are “committed”, you would have a “budgeted”. And then any extra budget I’ve left in allocated would really be my “flexible money”

I think this could be a really good feature, and takes Emma from being a reactive tool, to a pro-active tool

Also on the topic of making it proactive, and combined with the above.

Right now at the top of the analytics page of the current month / pay period everything is about spending budgets, and it’s very easy to see the budget as a target to spend.

I think you can easily shift this back and emphasize that budgets are meant to be about saving